You must be aged 18 or over to join Coffee Date.
We only need a few details from you when you join. One important item is the first part of your postcode. This is the part before the space, e.g. if your postcode is BL2 3RR then the first part is simply BL2. We use this to know approximately where you are in the Country. This allows you to search for members who are located within a certain number of miles from you.
Two other items we need is your email address and password. Both of these are kept private. Your email address allows us to contact you, whilst the password will be the one you use to login to Coffee Date. You will be able to change your password later if you wish.
After you have pressed the Submit button we will check what you've entered and let you know if there are any problems. Otherwise, you will see a confirmation screen and are informed that your login details have been sent to you via email.
To join Coffee Date, click here.
You will need to wait for your login details email to arrive before you can login to Coffee Date. This is sent as soon has you have joined and shouldn't take long to arrive. This email contains your seven digit membership number and a reminder of the password you chose. These two items will allow you to login to Coffee Date from the homepage.
Tip: Provided you have logged in using your membership number at least once, you can use your email address instead of your membership number when you login.
If you don't receive your login details then it could be that you mistyped your email when you joined. In this case, simply fill out the Join Coffee Date form again and re-submit. Your previous request to join will be disregarded.
As the login detail email states, you must login to Coffee Date within 3 days in order to activate your membership. If you do not then your join request will be erased and you will have to fill out the Join Coffee Date form again.
If you have forgotten your login details then we can send you a reminder of those details, via email. Click here, to request a login details reminder. Of course, the email you supply must match the one associated with your membership.
The left hand menu is shown whilst you are logged in. This allows you to access the features of Coffee Date, which are described below:
This simply takes you back to the page that you see when you have just logged in. Any important notes are highlighted to you, e.g. if you have new messages. The page also shows your membership details.
This allows you to search for other members that you might wish to go on a Coffee Date with. On choosing this option you will be shown a form where you set the criteria of the type of person you would like to search for. Your settings can be remembered for next time by ticking the box on the row above the Search button. Press the 'search' button to results of potential coffee dates.
The search results will give you a brief summary of the found members that match your criteria. There will be a link for each result that allows you to view their full profile. If there are many search results then these will be broken down into pages. Click on the 'more results' button to see the other pages.
If don't get many results then try widening your search criteria, e.g. selecting a greater distance away, or widening the age range.
From the list of found members you can view their profile by clicking on their name. This displayed profile has buttons at the bottom that allow you to send winks, coffee requests, messages, or just add them to your favourites for now. Winks are a great way to say hello. Coffee Requests are a unique feature of coffee date that instructs us to send a request to the person, on your behalf, and ask them if they will have a coffee with you. Messages allows you to send someone an message without revealing your email address.
This allows you to view the members you have selected with 'add to favourites' button, which is shown a the bottom of a member's profile. From the favourites page, you can easily send a message to that member or view their full profile. Essentially, the favourites feature allows you to keep track of the members that you are interested in.
You can remove favourites that appear in the list by ticking the Delete box for that member and then pressing the Delete Marked Items button.
This allows you to view and edit your profile. Your Profile is the description of yourself that other members are able to view. Try to make your profile truthful and interesting. To edit your profile, just press the Edit Profile button at the bottom of the page.
When you make changes to your profile they will be checked by us before they become available for other members to view.
We strongly recommend adding a photo to your profile. Profiles with photos get 9 times the responses as those without. To add a photo to your profile, use the My Photos menu option, described below.
This allows you to quickly and easily add photos to your profile and to view the photos that you have already provided.
Adding photos to your profile is achieved by allowing you to send a photo to us from a file that is stored on your computer. This process is called uploading, i.e. the opposite to downloading. Follow the on screen instructions to upload your photo.
This option will also allow you to change a photo you have uploaded. Simply, press the Change Photo button for the photo you would like to change and follow the on screen instructions.
This allows you view the 'winks' other members that have been sent to you. Winks is just away of saying hello. You can simply ignore the wink or you may choose to respond with a message.
If you do not wish to receive any more winks from a particular member, i.e. to block them, then click here for more details.
This allows you view the coffee requests other members that have been sent to you. New coffee requests will be shown in bold. You can respond to a coffee requests by pressing the 'accept', 'maybe' or 'decline' buttons. If you decline a coffee request then we won't send you anymore from the person.
If you do not wish to receive any more coffee requets from a particular member, i.e. to block them, then click here for more details.
The coffee requests page also has a link at the bottom, which will allow you to view the coffee requets you have sent.
This allows you view the messages from other members that have been sent to you. Any unread messages will be shown in bold. To view the message, just click on the message subject. To view the profile of the member that sent to the message, just click on their name.
If you wish to delete a message then click on the Delete box next to the message and then press the Delete Marked Items button.
If you do not wish to receive any more messages from a particular member, i.e. to block them, then click here for more details.
The My Messages page also has a link at the bottom, which will allow you to view the messages you have sent.
The messages you have received will be kept for 90 days. If there is any messages you would like to keep for longer then simply save the contents of the message to your computer by using the File... Save As option on your browser.
This allows you view and amend items relating to your Coffee Date membership. This includes changing your password, email address and the first part of your postcode. Click on the appropriate Change button to make a change.
The page also has a link at the bottom where you can view the blocks that you have in place on other members. Click here, to learn more about blocks.
This will log you out of Coffee Date. You should click on this menu option when you have finished using Coffee Date. If you forget to logout the system will automatically log you out but not until a period of inactivity has passed, around 90 minutes. Therefore, it is best if you logout manually.
Coffee Date allows you to block a particular member from sending you messages or viewing your profile. For example, you may wish to use this a feature if a member repeatedly sends you messages that your are not interested in.
To add a block simply click the link shown on the bottom right of their profile. Once the block is in place, the blocked member will then see a 'member not known' message when they try to send a message to you or view your profile. Essentially, it will look to them that you are no longer a member of Coffee Date.
To view the blocks you have in place, use the link at the bottom of the My Membership page. This link will display the blocks you have in place and will allow you to remove a particular block.